Screenwritng in Fountain Format: Interoperability, Render and Analysis

This entry is part of the serie Screenwriting in Fountain Format

  1. Screenwriting in Fountain: Concept and Basic Usage
  2. Screenwritng in Fountain Format: Using and Customizing Atom Editor
  3. Screenwritng in Fountain Format: Interoperability, Render and Analysis

Introduction

In the first article of this series on script editing, we saw how writing in Fountain allow to write our scripts in any text editing software.

In this article, we will explore the interoperability possibilities offered by this format, with a set of tools that I developed to meet my needs. No need to use the Atom editor, presented in the second article of the series, to benefit from what will be exposed here, you can use any text or scenario editor to prepare your Fountain files. However, working directly in Fountain will have some benefits.

Since Fountain is simply plain text, it is very easy to code functions (as webapps, scripts etc) to process / analyze the contents of these files.

Thus, there are plenty of mini webapps to process Fountain, most of them based on Fountain.js by mattdaly, a simple web page that allows you to file a .fountain file to render in HTML. There are others, such as ScreenPlain, which also allows for rendering HTML or FinalDraft format, or AfterWriting which is able to generate a PDF export, and to have dialogs stats reports.

However, there were no existing solutions for my specific needs:

  • Responsive HTML render, for a pleasant reading on any device, using a simple web browser.
  • Dialogues charts, to visualize the distribution of the dialogues between the characters.
  • Automatic initialization and refreshing, without having to manually load the Fountain file (as I use the scenarios in dialog recording sessions, I need the actor to be able to see the changes in real time without having to refresh the page).
  • Colors on characters names (yes, always that!).

So I decided to start developing my own mini webapp, by editing Fountain.js and adding the desired features. Developed over 3 months (one evening here and there) during the writing of season 2 of my saga Alien 2347, the app should be mature enough for a presentation!

If you want to see detailed and technical list of features which I have integrated, or if you want to contribute / create your own version, you can consult the project on GitHub.

Usage

Online

You can simply drag and drop a .fountain file onto the online version of the application, accessible at x-raym.github.io/Fountain.js/app/. Your scenario will be analyzed and displayed as HTML. However, this version does not currently handle custom colors; I may integrate this in the future according to feedbacks I’ll get.

A simple invitation to drag and drop.

Locally

You can download the app (it’s less than 1MB) to use it Local. You will only have to launch the index.html file to display the same page as the online version.

Automatic Initialization

One of the strengths of this webapp is that you can analyze a scenario directly without having to drag and drop in the loading page.

Small restriction, only FireFox allows to use the automatic display from a local file. Other browsers have limitations on local file permissions that prevent the use of the features I’ve used.

To do this, create a subfolder in the application folder, and place a your .fountain file in it, as well of a copy of /samples/sample.html renamed just like your Fountain file. So, if you have a MyScenario.fountain file, put it in a /MyScripts/ folder and place a copy of /samples/sample.html renamed to MyScenario.html next to it. Double-clicking MyScenario.html will automatically render MyScenario.fountain in your browser. You can place as many .fountain as you want in these subfolders.

Mis in place of the automatic initialization of a document.

Optionally, you can create a characters.json file in a /assets folder next to your .fountain to render it. take into account information specific to your characters (such as their colors or groups). Take as a reference the one provided as an example in the application to create your own.

If you prefer to have your Fountain files outside the application folder, you will need to edit the HTML file to correct the path to the resources it tries to call.

Render

The rendering is very similar to those proposed by Fountain.js, however I added some features:

  • Several themes : light and dark blue (inspired by Atom theme)
  • Mobile friendly
  • Button for full width display (useful for charts)
  • Character names colorization
  • Interactive table of contents for sequences
Some buttons allow to customize the display.

Ice on the cake, the scenario file is checked every second to see if it has been modified since the the last render, which makes it possible to have an almost real-time rendering during editing.

Editing the source Fountain file on the left with Atom, and updating the preview on the right without reloading the page. In this case, it can be used to modify the lines of a scenario which an actor would be viewing on another device (he would then see the changes take place in real time), or to display the statist of the scenario as you write.

Analysis

Balance of Dialogues

In addition to these initialization and rendering options, your script is provided with dialogs charts.

First of all, a classic but indispensable bar chart, to see the dialog distribution by character.

A visual and interactive visualization of dialogue distribution between the characters, with their respective colors.

You can filter the analysis by sequence, and even change the unit used.

Very inspired by the charts and the subject of the screenplay analysis articles made by the interactive visual essay journal The Pudding (The Largest Ever Analysis of Film Dialogue by Gender: 2,000 scripts, 25,000 actors, 4 million lines, She Giggles, He Gallops), I thought that it would be nice to have a chart of dialogues distribution by groups of characters, in particularly by genre. A feature which even the most used screenwriting softwares do not offer (I contacted CeltX support to submit the idea, their response was rather positive, but considering an integration is a whole other thing).

To be totally flexible, I integrated this feature so that groups can be named arbitrary (there is no predefined group). Here is the result :

A visualization of the dialog distribution by groups of characters. We can see how imbalance is the speaking time between male and female characters. At the scale of a sequence, it is not necessarily a problem, but it would be interesting to ensure that this imbalance is not present on the whole episode.

Group definition (their types, their sub-categories, their colors, their assigned characters) is done via the file /assets/characters.json already mentioned above. The charts are generated automatically accordingly.

X-Range

Dialog Balance graphs are great for seeing if a character do not get all the attention (whether on purpose or not) across a sequence or the whole script. However, it does not account for the rhythm or the lines distribution within the sequences themselves.

This is how I came up with the idea of ​​integrating an X-Range chart, to represent all the dialogue lines of the episodes according to their character and their position in the scenario. Here is the result :

This visualization allows to evaluate the rhythm of a dialogue. We see that the distribution is rather balanced between main characters, but some characters tend to have longer sentences, like Zawn.

Notice the similarity between this display and that of the project recorded in the sound processing software used to make it:

A screenshot of the project after recording the dialog under REAPER. We see the similarity with the X-Range representation of the scenario.

Note: I will surely add descriptions in this chart at some point. Personally, I write mostly for audio fiction, for which dialogues is one of the only drivers of the story, so there is almost no line of description except one onomatopoeia here and there.

Conclusion

Working in a simple, universal format allows many people to develop custom features for their writing process, without having to wait for a developer to integrate them into their software. Everyone can freely enjoy the tools made and shared by others (the spirit of sharing underlying the use of open formats favoring the sharing of these tools), or even to modify them according to their own personal needs.

Many other things can be imagined around the processing of Fountain files: generation of tables of contents of the sequences, list of the characters in order of appearance … It turns out precisely that I looked at the subject out of curiosity (you can check the Python scripts I coded on my Fountain-Scripts repo. No doc written yet, but I will do it if people are interested).

For my part, I am satisfied to have managed to find solutions which can meet my needs, whether for writing, rendering, or doing analysis. Enough coding for now, it’s time to go back to scriptwriting!


Apart from the conception of the tool showcased here, the writing of this article required several hours of writing and translations. You can support this project by donation!

Thanks to Marie for the proofreading!

Écrire un Scénario en Fountain : Interopérabilité, Rendu et Analyse

Introduction

Dans le premier article de cette série sur l’édition de scénario, nous avons pu voir comment écrire en Fountain nous permettait d’écrire nos scénarios dans n’importe quel logiciel d’édition de texte.

Dans cet article, nous allons explorer les possibilités d’interopérabilité offertes par ce format, avec un ensemble d’outils que j’ai développés pour répondre à mes besoins. Nul besoin d’utiliser l’éditeur Atom, présenté dans le deuxième article de la série, pour bénéficier de ce qui va être exposé, vous pouvez utiliser l’éditeur de texte ou de scénario de votre choix pour préparer vos fichiers Fountain. Cependant, travailler directement en Fountain aura quelques avantages.

Dans la mesure où la syntaxe Fountain ne repose que sur du texte brut, il est très facile de coder des fonctions (sous formes de webapps, de scripts etc) pour traiter/analyser le contenu de ces fichiers.

Ainsi, des mini webapps pour traiter du Fountain, il y en a plein, la plus part étant basée sur Fountain.js de mattdaly, une simple page web qui vous permet de déposer un fichier .fountain pour en faire le rendu en HTML. Il y en a d’autres, comme ScreenPlain, qui permet elle aussi d’avoir un rendu HTML ou au format FinalDraft, ou AfterWriting qui est capable de générer un export en PDF, et d’avoir des res rapports statistiques sur les dialogues.

Cependant, il n’y avait pas de solutions existantes pour mes besoins spécifiques :

  • Rendu en HTML responsif, pour une lecture agréable quelque soit le support, à partir d’un simple navigateur web.
  • Graphiques des dialogues, pour visualiser la répartition des dialogues entre les personnages.
  • Initialisation et rafraîchissement automatique, y compris en local, sans avoir à (re-)charger manuellement le fichier Fountain (vu que j’utilise le scénario en enregistrement, j’ai besoin que l’acteur puisse voir les changements sur celui-ci en tant réel sans avoir à actualiser la page manuellement).
  • La couleur sur le nom des personnages (oui, toujours ça !).

Ainsi me suis-je dit que j’allais me lancer dans le développement de ma propre mini webapp, en modant Fountain.js pour y rajouter les fonctionnalités désirées. Développé sur une période de 3 mois (un soir par ci par là) pendant l’écriture de la saison 2 de ma saga Alien 2347, l’app devrait être maintenant assez mature pour une présentation !

Si vous voulez voir une liste détaillée et technique des fonctionnalités que j’ai intégrées, ou si vous voulez contribuer / créer votre propre version, vous pouvez consulter le projet sur GitHub.

Usage

En Ligne

Vous pouvez tout simplement faire un glisser-déposer d’un fichier .fountain sur la version en ligne de l’application, accessible à l’adresse x-raym.github.io/Fountain.js/app/. Votre scénario sera analysé et afficher en HTML. Cependant, cette version ne gère pour l’instant pas les couleurs personnalisées; j’intégrerai peut-être cela dans le futur en fonction des retours.

Une simple invitation au glisser-désposer.

Localement

Vous pouvez télécharger l’application (elle fait moins de 1Mo) pour l’utiliser en Local. Vous n’aurez qu’à lancer le fichier index.html pour afficher la même page que la version en ligne.

Initialisation Automatique

Un des points forts de cette webapp est que vous pouvez analyser un scénario directement sans avoir à faire de glisser-déposer dans la page de chargement.

Petite restriction, seul FireFox permet d’utiliser l’affichage automatique à partir d’un fichier local. Les autres navigateurs ont des limitations sur les droits d’accès au fichiers locaux qui empêchent l’utilisation des fonctions que j’ai utilisées et ont besoin qu’un serveur web local soit créé.

Pour se faire, créer un sous-dossier dans le dossier de l’application, et placez-y une copie de votre fichier .fountain, puis une copie de /samples/sample.html à laquelle vous attribuez le même nom que votre .fountain. Ainsi, si vous avez un fichier MonScenario.fountain, placez le dans un dossier /MaSaga/ et placez y une copie de /samples/sample.html renommée en MonScenario.html. Un double-clique sur MonScenario.html ouvrira automatiquement un rendu de MonScenario.fountain dans votre navigateur. Vous pouvez placer autant de .fountain que vous voulez dans ces sous-dossiers.

Mise en place de l’Initialisation automatique d’un document.

Optionnellement, vous pouvez créer un fichier characters.json dans un dossier /assets à côté de votre .fountain pour que le rendu de celui-ci prenne en compte des informations spécifiques à vos personnages (comme leurs couleurs ou leurs groupes). Prenez comme repère celui fourni en exemple dans l’application pour créer le votre.

Si vous préférez avoir vos fichiers Fountain en dehors d’un sous-répertoire de l’application, il vous faudra éditer le fichier HTML pour que le chemin vers les ressources qu’il appelle soit valide.

Rendu

Le rendu est très similaire à celui de Fountain.js, cependant j’y ai rajouté quelques spécificités :

  • Plusieurs thèmes : clair et sombre (bleu foncé, inspiré par le thème de Atom)
  • Affichage compatible mobile
  • Bouton pour affichage en pleine largeur (utile pour les graphiques)
  • Colorisation des noms des personnages
  • Table des matières interactives pour les séquences
Quelques boutons permettent de personnaliser l’affichage.

Cerise sur le gâteau, le scénario se recharge chaque seconde pour voir si le fichier source à charger depuis le rendu, ce qui permet d’avoir un rendu quasi instantané pendant l »édition de votre scénario.

L’édition du fichier Fountain source à gauche avec Atom, et mise à jour de l’aperçu à droite sans rechargement de la page. Dans le cas précis, cela peut servir à modifier les lignes d’un scénario qu’un acteur serait en train de consulter sur un autre appareil (il verrait alors les changement s’opérer dans la foulée), ou d’afficher les statistiques du scénario au fur et à mesure de l’écriture.

Analyse

Équilibre des Dialogues

En plus de ces options d’initialisation et de rendu, votre rendu se voit enrichi de graphiques d’analyse des dialogues de votre scénario.

Tout d’abord, un classique mais indispensables diagramme à bâton horizontal, pour voir la répartition des dialogues par perso.

Une représentation visuelle et interactive de la répartition des dialogues entre les personnages, avec leurs couleurs respectives.

Vous pouvez filtrer l’analyse par séquence, et même changer l’unité de mesure utilisée.

Très inspiré par les graphiques et le propos des articles d’analyses de scénario faîtes par le journal d’essais visuels interactifs The Pudding (The Largest Ever Analysis of Film Dialogue by Gender: 2,000 scripts, 25,000 actors, 4 million lines, She Giggles, He Gallops), je me suis dit que ce serait bien aussi d’avoir un graphique de répartition des dialogues par groupes de caractères, en particuliers par genre. Une fonction que même les leaders des logiciels d’écritures de scénario ne proposent pas (j’avais contacté le support de CeltX pour leur soumettre leur idée, leur réponse était plutôt positive, mais de là à envisager une intégration, c’est tout autre chose).

Afin d’être totalement flexible, j’ai intégré cette fonctionnalités de manière à ce que les groupes puissent être nommés arbitrairement (il n’y a pas de groupe prédéfini). Voici le résultat :

Une visualisation de la répartition des dialogues par groupes de personnages. Nous pouvons voir un déséquilbre du temps de parole entre personnages masculins et féminins. À l’échelle d’une séquence, ce n’est pas forcément grave, mais Il serait intéressant de veiller à ce que le déséquilibre ne soit pas présent sur l’ensemble de l’épisode.

La définition des groupes (leurs types, leurs sous-catégories, leurs couleurs, leurs personnages attribués) se fait via le fichier /assets/characters.json déjà mentionné plus haut. Les graphiques sont générés automatiquement en fonction.

X-Range

Les graphiques d’équilibre de dialogues sont parfaits pour voir si un personnage n’occuperait pas toute l’attention (que ce soit volontaire ou non) à l’échelle d’une séquence ou d’un épisode. Cependant, ils ne rendent pas compte du rythme, de la répartition des lignes de dialogues, dans les séquences elles-mêmes.

C’est ainsi que j’ai eu l’idée d’intégrer un graphique de type X-Range, pour représenter l’ensemble des lignes de dialogues des épisodes en fonction des personnages et de leur position dans le scénario. Voici le résultat :

Cette visualisation permet de bien évaluer le rythme d’un dialogue. On voit que la répartition est plutôt équilibrée entre les personnages principaux, mais que certains personnages ont tendance a avoir es phrases plus longues, comme Zawn.

Remarquez la similarité entre cette affichage et celui du projet enregistré dans le logiciel de traitement sonore (REAPER) utilisé pour le réaliser :

Une capture d’écran du projet après enregistrement des dialogues sous REAPER. On voit la similarité avec la représentation X-Range du scénario.

Note : je rajouterai surement à un moment l’analyse de la durée des moment de description. Personnellement, j’écris surtout pour de la fiction sonore, où le dialogue est l’un des seuls moteurs du récit, il n’y a quasiment aucune ligne de description à part une onomatopée ici et là.

Conclusion

Travailler sur un format simple et universel permet à de nombreuses personnes de développer des fonctionnalités personnalisées pour leur processus d’écriture, sans avoir à attendre qu’un développeur les intègre dans son logiciel. Tout à chacun peut profiter librement des outils faits et partagés par les autres (l’esprit de partage sous-jacent à l’utilisation de formats ouverts favorisant la diffusion de ces outils), voir même, de les modifier, pour les adapter selon leur propres propres besoins !

Beaucoup d’autres choses peuvent être imaginées autour du traitement des fichiers Fountain : génération de tables des matières des séquences, liste des personnages par ordre d’apparition… Il s’avère justement que je me suis penché sur le sujet par curiosité (vous pouvez consulter les scripts Python que j’ai codés sur Fountain-Scripts ! Je n’ai pas encore écrit de doc, mais je le ferai si des personnes sont intéressées).

Pour ma part, je suis satisfait d’avoir réussi à mettre en plat des solutions capables de répondre à mes besoins, que ce soit au niveau de l’écriture, du rendu, ou de l’analyse. Assez codé pour l’instant, il est temps de retourner à l’écriture de scénario !


Au dela de la conception de l’outil présenté, l’écriture de cet article a demandé plusieurs heures de rédaction et de traduction. Vous pouvez soutenir ce projet en faisant une donation !

Merci à Marie pour la relecture !