From Premiere Pro to Reaper (AATranslator) – Audio Post-Production Tutorial

Premiere Pro to Reaper
EDIT 25/02/2016: AATranslator’s main purpose is pure project conversion, and it does it very well, from an incredible varieties of formats. But if you only do video post-production tasks, and if you want to benefit from useful function dedicated to this, like reconformation, I advice you to check the recent Vordio.

AATranslator is still an incredibly useful software for all kind of projects conversion, from a DAW to another.

Because of its non destructive workflow, very powerful editing capabilities, cross platform-availability, very low price, and ability to play a large panel of video codecs (and SubRip subtitles support !), Reaper could be the DAW of choice for video post-production. How can we go from our video editing software to Reaper? What format to choose? What conditions the project must satisfy? After trying a lot of different worflows, I will show you the best I found, with Premiere Pro, on Windows. This workflow let you edit and mix the same files used in your Premiere Pro Project, with no reconversion, and with the same tracks disposition, using EDL files and the AATranslator converter.

I just noticed your post and actually read it with great delight – well done […] Excellent work!

Michael, AATranslator developer

Tutorial Details

Exemple

Screenshots are made from one of my video projects, which is a fake interview. The video contained a lot a different media sources without being too complex, so it can be a good example.

Final Result

Here is a silent (french) video in order to explain what we will do in this tutorial. The (english) text version gives greater detail for each step.

Step by Step

Step 1 : Conform the Premiere Pro Project

In order to be able to edit and mix the sound of your video project from Premiere Pro to Reaper using EDL, you have to be aware of certain things.

1-conform
Conformer le Projet Premiere Pro
  • Keep your editing as simple as possible. No secondary audio tracks, no audio transition. You can use standard gain of volume keyframes, but don’t do it to much. Your goal is do edit and mix the sound in Reaper, not in Premiere Pro. Your sound editing in Premiere Pro is basically just syncing audio and videos and do a very basic editing.
  • No audio from Nested Sequences or Multicam Sequences. If you do have some of those in your project, deleted audio from the “child” sequences, copy the audio from the original sequences, ans paste it into the destination sequence. Be sure that your audio-synchro is still ok.
  • You can’t have more than 4 audio tracks. If you have more than 4, try to combine them, you will be able to spread audio items on other tracks later in Reaper. This is a limitation due to the export format we will choose in Step 2.
  • Don’t use any Audio Effects.
  • Render audio files that are linked to After Effects composition, or item generated by Premiere Pro (like Colors Bars and 1khz Tone). Audio from Video+Audio files will also need a conversion, but this one can be done in AATransalor.
  • Some audio files have a build-in Timecode that can cause trouble. To correct this, assure you that all of your audio files started from 0:00:00:00 in the project bay. If not, select your audio files, choose Modify and set the Media Start to 0.
2-modify
Modify the timecode
3-timecode
Set Media Start to 0

Step 2 : Export the Project

Premiere Pro is able to export a large variety of formats. The best one I found for exporting to Reaper after a lot of tests is the EDL, which allows the media items to be linked to the source audio files and maintains track names and doesn’t split stereo tracks. Export a sequence in EDL is quite simple : click on your sequence, choose Export > EDL, choose the channel 1 of your 4 tracks and Video Linked. Reaper will be able to restore stereo objects on your tracks without you have anything to say. And then, it’s done !

4-edl
Export en EDL

Step 3 : AATranslator

Premiere Pro can export EDL. Reaper can import EDL. But… not the same EDL. There is several variations of EDL files, and the one exported by Premiere Pro is not the same than the one Reaper can import. What you have to do is to use the Windows only AATranslator converter (Standard Version $59USD is enough), coded by Suite Spot Studios. The purpose of this software is to translate one audio project format to one other. It can do some audio extraction (from video clip) or certain audio reconversion if needed. It’s a complicated software for novice, but can be a great helper once we know the workflow we need. Fortunately, what you have to do is pretty simple : import your EDL in AATranslator and export it in Reaper Project File (RPP).

5-aatranslator
AATranslator

Step 4 : Reaper

Now you have your RPP, you just have to open it. Reaper will ask you to locate the files of the project, so do it… and then, you are ready to go ! Full power of a DAW for your video project !

6-reaper
Reaper Import

You can import a rendered video file of your project and import it in Reaper, which would be able to play it, if the exported format is common (mp4 – h.264 works fine, even in Full HD, depending of your computer hardware). You can’t mute the track (or else no video will be displayed) but you can put the volume track fader to -inf.

7-beta
Set volume to minimum for the track where the video is

Once you finished your editing and mixing, export your audio with the maximum quality available for your project.

8-export
Reaper Export

Step 5 : Back to Premiere Pro

Import the resulting file into your Premiere Pro sequence, mute the other tracks. You can now render your video for a final export.

9-import
Back to Premiere Pro

Mac OS

Mac users who don’t have Windows session on their computer can use Winebottler, a free Windows emulator for MAC, and then, run AATranslator. An cheaper solution (without AATranslator) is possible using Vordio, a software for converting FCP X XML to Reaper Project File. The fact is that Premiere Pro export in FCP 7 XML, so you have to use the 7toX software in order to make a first conversion, from FCP 7 XML, to FCP X XML. FCP XML export has some limitations that I don’t appreciate (it split tracks, spread the item channel over several tracks, and we lose track name). I haven’t personally try this MAC OS workflow, so consider this as something to try rather than a turnkey solution. Note : Vordio and 7toX are very specific softwares, you will have a lot more conversion possibilities with AATranslator.

Conclusion

To export your audio project section from Premiere Pro to Reaper is very easy once you have the right tool and you know the workflow. The general workflow can be extrapolated to other editing softwares, but can need some small adjustments. Notice that some of those softwares could probably be used without AATranslator conversion, because of a direct compatible (with Reaper) EDL export (Note from Michael : The EDL that Reaper reads & writes is a Samplitude EDL which is only read by Samplitude/Sequoia & Magix Video Pro, Reaper & N-Track).

If you want to see the mixed in Reaper video… it’s here !

De Premiere Pro à Reaper (AATranslator) – Tutoriel de Post-Production Audio

Premiere Pro to Reaper
EDIT 25/02/2016: Le but d’AATranslator est la pure conversion de projets, et il le fait très bien, à partir d’une large variétés de formats. Mais si vous rechercher quelque chose de plus spécialisé dans la post-production vidéo, et si vous voulez bénéficier de fonctions avancées dédiées à cela, comme la reconformation, je vous conseille de jeter un coup d’oeil au récent Vordio.

AATranslator reste un logiciel incroyable pour tous types de conversions de projet d’une STAN à une autre.

Grâce à son flux de travail non destructif, ses fonctionnalités d’editing très avancées, sa disponibilité cross-platform, son prix très bas, et sa capacité à lire de nombreux codecs vidéo (et même les sous-titres SubRip SRT), Reaper peut être le DAW de choix pour la post-production sonore. Comment passer de son logiciel de montage vidéo à Reaper ? Quels formats choisir ? Quelles sont les conditions à respecter ? Après avoir tester de nombreux flux de travail, je vais vous montrer celui qui pour moi semble le meilleur, à partir de Premiere Pro, sous Windows. Cette méthode vous permet de monter et mixer avec les mêmes fichiers que ceux que vous utilisiez sous Premiere Pro, sans reconversion, et avec la même disposition de piste, en utilisant un fichier EDL et le logiciel AATranslator.

Je viens de remarquer votre article et je l’ai vu avec beaucoup de plaisir – bien joué […] Excellent travail !

Michael, le développeur de AATranslator

Détails du Tutoriel

Exemple

Les captures d’écran proviennent de l’un de mes projets vidéo : une fausse interview. Le montage contient des fichiers de sources très différentes sans pour autant être trop compliqué, ce qui en fait un bon exemple.

Résultat Final

Voici une vidéo sans parole de la démarche à suivre, avec Premiere Pro en version Française. Le texte en anglais ci-dessous vous donnera plus de détail pour chaque étape. (traduction en cours)

Étape par Étape

Étape 1 : Conformer le Projet Premiere Pro

Pour être capable d’éditer et de mixer les sons de votre projet Premiere Pro avec Reaper en utilisant un fichier EDL, vous devez être averti de certaines choses.

1-conform
Conformer le Projet Premiere Pro
  • Garder votre montage aussi simple que possible. Pas de piste audio “secondaire”, pas de transition audio. Vous pouvez utilisez les fonctions basiques de gain, ou d’image clé de volume, mais n’en abusez pas. Le but est de faire le mixage sous Reaper, pas sous Premiere Pro. Contentez vous d’utiliser Premiere Pro pour faire la synchro son/image et du montage basique.
  • Pas de Séquences Imbriquées ou Multicam. Si vous en avez dans votre projet, supprimez l’audio des séquences “enfants”, copiez l’audio des séquences originales, et copiez-les dans la séquence de destination. Vérifiez votre synchro, au cas où.
  • Pas plus de 4 piste audio. Si vous en avez plus de 4, essayez de les combiner, vous pourrez répartir les objets sur plus de pistes dans Reaper par la suite. Cela est du à une limitation du format choisit dans l’étape 2.
  • N’utilisez aucun effets audio.
  • Faîtes un rendu des fichiers audio, si ils sont liés à une composition After Effects, ou à un élément généré par Premiere Pro (comme La Mire et la Tonalité 1khz). L’audio de fichiers Video+Audio devra lui aussi être extrait/converti, mais ceci peut être fait dans AATransalor.
  • Certains fichiers audio ont un timecode intégré qui peut poser problème. Pour corriger cela, assurez-vous que tous vos fichiers audio débutent à 0:00:00:00 dans votre fenêtre de Projet. Si ce n’est pas le cas, sélectionnez vos fichiers audio, choisissez Modifier et définissez le Début du Média à 0.
2-modify
Modifier le timecode
3-timecode
Définir le point d’entrée sur 0

Étape 2 : Exporter le Projet

Premiere Pro est capable d’exporter ses projets dans plusieurs formats. Le meilleur que j’ai trouvé pour un import dans Reaper, après de nombreux tests, est le EDL, qui permet aux objets audio d’être liés aux fichiers sources, la conservation du nom des pistes, et la non-division des pistes stéréo. Exporter une séquence en EDL est assez facile : cliquez sur votre séquence, choisissez Exporter > EDL, puis le Canal 1 de vos 4 pistes et L’Audio Suit la Vidéo. Reaper sera capable de restaurer les objets stéréo dans vos pistes sans que vous n’ayez rien à faire. Et voilà, c’est fait !

4-edl
Export en EDL

Étape 3 : AATranslator

Premiere Pro peut exporter en EDL. Reaper peut importer des EDL. Mais… pas les mêmes. Il y a plusieurs versions pour les EDL, et celle qu’exporte Premiere Pro n’est pas celle que lit Reaper. Ce que vous pouvez faire, c’est utiliser le convertisseur AATranslator de chez Suite Spot Studios, nativement sous Windows (la version Standard à 59$ est suffisante). Le but de ce logiciel est de convertir un projet fait sous un logiciel en un projet audio pour un autre logiciel. Il est capable de faire un peu d’extraction audio (à partir de fichiers vidéo) ou de faire certaines conversions audio. C’est un logiciel compliqué pour les débutants, mais il peut être d’une grande aide si on sait quoi faire avec. Heureusement, ce que nous avons à faire est plutôt simple : importer votre EDL dans AATranslator et l’exporter au format Projet Reaper RPP.

5-aatranslator
AATranslator

Étape 4 : Reaper

Maintenant que vous avez votre .RPP, il ne vous reste plus qu’à l’ouvrir. Reaper vous demandera de localiser les fichiers, il suffit de le faire… et après, vous êtes prêt pour le mix ! La pleine puissance d’un DAW pour votre post-production audio !

6-reaper
Import sous Reaper

Vous pouvez importer un fichier vidéo sous Reaper, qui sera capable de le lire, si il est exporté dans un format commun (mp4 – h.264 marche parfaitement, même en Full HD, mais cela peut dépendre de votre matériel). Vous ne pouvez pas basculer la piste vidéo en muet pour en enlever le son, sinon la vidéo ne pourra pas s’afficher, mais vous pouvez descendre son fader à -inf.

7-beta
Volume au minimum pour la piste audio témoin

Une fois que vous avez fini votre editing et votre mixage, vous pouvez faire un rendu du projet dans la meilleure qualité possible !

8-export
Export sous Reaper

Étape 5 : Retour à Premiere Pro

Importer le fichier exporter dans votre séquence Premiere Pro, passer en muet les autres pistes. Vous pouvez maintenant faire votre export final.

9-import
Import du rendu sous Premiere Pro

Mac OS

Si vous n’avez pas de session Windows sur votre Mac, vous pouvez utiliser Winebottler, un émulateur de Windows gratuit, et y lancer AATranslator. Une solution moins cher (sans AATranslator) est envisageable avec Vordio, un logiciel de conversion des FCP X XML en projet Reaper. Le fait est que Premiere Pro exporte en format FCP 7 XML, il vous faudra donc utiliser le logiciel 7toX en premier lieu pour le convertir, de FCP 7 XML, à FCP X XML. Le FCP XML a de nombreuses limitations gênantes (les pistes sont divisées, les objets avec plusieurs canaux audio sont répartis sur différentes pistes, on perd le nom des pistes…). Je n’ai pas personnellement essayé ce flux de travail MAC OS, considérez plutôt cela comme quelque chose à essayer que comme une solution clé en main. Note : Vordio et 7toX sont des logiciels très spécifiques, vos possibilités de conversion seront bien moindre qu’avec AATranslator.

Conclusion

Exportez l’audio de votre Projet Premiere Pro pour le mixer sous Reaper est très rapide une fois que l’on a les bons outils et que l’on connaît la marche à suivre. Ce workflow peut être adapté à d’autres logiciels de montage vidéo, mais peut nécessiter quelques petits ajustements. Certains de montage n’auront pas besoin d’AATranslator, ils peuvent exporter des EDL que Reaper peut lire nativement (Note de Michael : Les EDL que Reaper lit & écrit sont au format Samplitude EDL qui ne peut être lu que part Samplitude/Sequoia & Magix Video Pro, Reaper & N-Track).

Si vous voulez voir ma vidéo mixée sous Repaer.. c’est ici !